Misanthrope

The last time I let you borrow my pen
you chewed the clip off the top
and offered to glue it back on.

And then, after I showed you
step by step
the proper way to re-assemble your phone
you still brought your broken technology
to my attention.

I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR YOU!

But this is my humanity.

The same way that I inherit
all the supple gestures and earlobes
of those budding lovers of mine,
I also part my lips
to suck the blackened air
from the burnt rubber
of a cocky foot on the petal of hell.

So as we quiet down,
settling our notes in our bags,
and you scramble for the ink
to complete your final test,

it is not ironic
that you have no choice
in your natural selection.

Leave a Reply

