Two Poems In Spite Of Existence

I. A Wake

My eyes tear through these shades
like chicken claws
through egg shell fencing
that keeps them safe
from the day.

This is life

Spread like butter
with a knife over my heart,
and it’s melting
beneath the stars

Falling for the Earth
to be grounded.

My rounded irises
twist and twinkle
as my body creaks
into motion,
laying my sleep
to rest.

II. A Sleep

The length of my feet
stretch from my dreams
into the next.

Step by step.

This is my breath
processing what it means
to be alive
and alive again.

Toes pointing toward the future;
eyes pointing toward stars.

I am.
We are.

Leave a Reply

